Back to events

Image of the event

SMD Division Presents: Lit From Within: Poetry and the Vital Spirit

Speaker: Dr. Maria Sirois

Date & Times: March 12 | 3:00pm ET (12:00pm PT/7:00pm GMT)

Access: Members Only

Event Type: virtual

Sometimes, the right line or phrase, shared at the right time does much to enliven our spirits, to connect us to our deeper selves, and to trigger a momentary transcendence. In this conversation, Dr. Maria Sirois, leads us in an exploration of how poetry and other forms of writing may bring us toward our selves and/or toward each other, particularly in moments of challenge, and how they might elevate the strengths of transcendence. We will share practice suggestions as well – how we might engage in reading/writing such that our days are shaped in positive directions. Please bring along a line or phrase from a favored poem, essay, novel or song, so that we may share the good with each other.

Maria Sirois, Psy.D. has spent more than three decades in the board rooms of business, bedsides of the dying and everywhere in between to do one thing: offer the data, stories, tools and perspectives that enable us to cultivate resilience, health, wisdom and a greater capacity to lead ourselves and others well, no matter the strain or suffering of the moment. As a resilience expert, positive psychologist and international consultant, she is known for her authenticity, wisdom and compassion. She is the author of two books: A Short Course in Happiness After Loss (And Other Dark, Difficult Times) and Every Day Counts.

Please log in to register!


If you are an IPPA member, please login for this event. Not a member? Join IPPA Today to register!