Back to events

Image of the event

IPPA Webinar: How to Write (Many) Journal Articles and Books by Roy Baumeister

Speaker: Roy Baumeister

Date & Times: August 08 | 9:00am ET (6:00am PT/1:00pm GMT)

Member Price: $295

Non Member Price: $430

Access: Open to all

Event Type: virtual

This event is a rescheduling of the symposium that was to be presented at the 2023 World Congress.

 

Early in their career, most people struggle to write for publication. Over time, it becomes easier, and for some of us at least, writing eventually becomes a favorite activity. In any case, quality of writing can make or break a career. This workshop covers a great many strategies, tips, and preventable pitfalls to help the ambitious young researcher become a better writer. These include highly specific advice (e.g., always state the paper’s main point within the first two paragraphs) to general principles (e.g., writing and thinking are separate processes). Reports of new data, literature review/theory articles, and books will be covered. Tips for increasing citation impact will be presented. Writing a first book can be daunting but there are ways to make it easier. The presenter has taught scientific writing to many young researchers. He has over 700 publications including 45 books, so along the way he has made and learned from many mistakes that his advice will help you avoid.

 

  • $195 for student IPPA members*
  • $295 for professional IPPA members*
  • $345 for student non-members (includes a one year IPPA student membership, proof of full-time enrollment required)*
  • $430 for professional non-members (includes a one year IPPA professional membership)*

*All funds go directly to IPPA

 

Please note! Registration ends two days before the event! Be sure to register by August 6th!

 

*You will receive an email with access information the day before the scheduled event. Please check your junk and spam if you don’t receive it.


Register for this Event